Valley school board races decided on Tuesday


VALLEY — Several contested school board elections were settled during Tuesday’s election in the San Luis Valley. (See separate story for Alamosa’s results.)

In South Conejos School District:

  • Rod Ruybalid easily defeated Alfonzo Abeyta Jr. for the Director District A seat, 457 to 228.
  • In a close race, Joyce Duran defeated Robert Duran for the Director District B seat, 340 to 311 votes.
  • Eufemia “Femy” Martinez-Duran handily defeated Reyes Garcia for the Director District C seat, 369 votes to 293 votes.
  • Proposition 3A was approved 284 to 248.

In the Centennial School District:

  • Lori Espinoza easily won the Director District 2 seat with 343 votes compared to Colleen Romero’s 159 votes.
  • Likewise, Lucas Casias won by a wide margin the Director District 3 seat over Joellen Sandoval, 363 to 159 votes, respectively.
  • Carlos DeLeon received 414 confidence votes for Director District 4.

In Sierra Grande School District:

  • Castorina Gilmartin received 287 confidence votes.
  • Wendy Fischer won nearly 70 percent of the votes for Director District 3 in a race with Steven Woelfel, with 220 votes for Fischer and 96 for Woelfel.

In the Moffat Consolidated School District:

  • Mary Elizabeth Benavidez received 190 confidence votes for Director District 2.
  • Matthew Crowley received 233 confidence votes for Director District 3.
  • Ginger Ann Stringer received 188 votes as the only person on the ballot for the at-large seat.
  • Jerry Berry took another of the at-large seats as a write-in candidate, receiving 16 votes.

In Mountain Valley School District

  • Lisa Hammel received 105 votes as a write-in candidate. No one was listed on the ballot.

In the Center Consolidated School District:

  • Misty Jo Palacios received 262 votes, defeating James Sanchez who received 115 votes.

In the Del Norte school district:

  • Top vote getters for the two open seats were Bridget Kreutzer with 867 votes and Neal Walters with 806 votes. Laura Anzalone received 611 votes.

In the Sargent School District:

  • From among the five candidates running for three open seats, top vote getters seated on the board were Michele Peterson with 226 votes, Tyler Mitchell with 194 votes and Tyler Kyffin with 187 votes. Candidate Nathan Burkhart received 174 votes and Yael Defaye received 119 votes.

In Sangre de Cristo there were no contested school board races, but voters were asked to remove term limits. That measure failed 207 to 70.