SLV Health receives prestigious Summit Award


VALLEY — San Luis Valley Health received a Summit Award as the Hospital Provider of Choice; and also two Pinnacle Awards as the Hospital Provider of Choice and for Patti Thompson as the Inspiring Administrator at the 2018 HealthCare Service Excellence Conference in San Antonio, Texas.

The Summit Award is the highest award of excellence presented at the HealthCare Service Excellence Conference. It is awarded to qualified, innovative, and progressive individuals, teams, and healthcare facilities who have made outstanding progress towards improving the patient experience and staff engagement. Individuals, teams, or organizations must be nominated to be eligible for a Summit Award.

San Luis Valley Health was awarded 33 Outstanding Achievements in Breakthrough & Star Rating Awards which speaks to providing evidence based solutions to increase patient care, safety and satisfaction. SLV Health is in their 4th year of the Service Excellence initiative, with a goal to increase the satisfaction of the patient experience in both the hospitals and the clinics. Of the 33 breakthrough and star rating awards, the Diamond award was significant because it meant that SLV Health scored 10 percentage points higher than the comparative data from the vendor survey of patients about their experience. These are awarded annually to hospitals and clinics which have demonstrated improvement and achievement with meeting or exceeding their goals. SLV Health received 5 Ruby, 11 Emeralds, 2 Golds, 6 Silvers and 8Bronze awards, each representing various measures of percentage points of improvement for different criteria.

Each category focuses on different criteria such as total time spent waiting, the registration process, explanations of new medication and much more. These awards demonstrate the success of the total commitment to improve customer service from all personnel from the front line to the administrators. SLV Health’s Regional Medical Center increased to a 4-star hospital in 2017 which was a great achievement in patient safety and satisfaction.

The star rating and awards acknowledge the efforts of SLV Health staff to increase patient and family satisfaction as measured by an independent source.

In 2017, the Summit Awards committee received over 265 nominations from 20 different healthcare organizations spanning 10 states. 54 of the nominations were chosen as Pinnacle Achievers (the best of the best), and 15 of those 54 were presented the Summit Award.

The 2017 Summit Awards are presented by Custom Learning Systems during the annual HealthCare Service Excellence Conference. The HealthCare Service Excellence Conference is dedicated to delivering evidence based solutions to help hospitals and other healthcare facilities improve the overall patient experience.  Each year, participating organizational employees are invited to submit nominations. It’s an honor to be nominated by your peers and the divisions and individuals who were nominated in the different categories are listed below in a table.  

SLV Health is so proud of its team members for these amazing accomplishments!

Nominations for Break

through Awards from San

Luis Valley Health:

T-8 OASIS Team

Clinic Patient Experience

T-8 OASIS Team

Transition of Care

T-9 DO IT Improvement of

the Year

La Jara Clinic Team

I-1 Service Excellence


Merisa Armstrong

I-2 Service Excellence


Monica Hinds

I-3 Exceptional Nurse

Lisa Romero

I-3 Exceptional Nurse

Sheena Mathis

L-13 Inspiring


Patti Thompson

I-3 Exceptional Nurse

Monica Hinds

I-4 Exceptional Employee

John Thompson

I-5 Empowering Manager

Adam Lawrence

I-5 Empowering Manager

Nina Crawford

I-6 Customer Focused 


Dr. Nuwan Pilapitiya

L-10 Super Coach

Mandy Crockett

L-13 Inspiring


Kelly Gallegos

O-16 Hospital Provider of


San Luis Valley Health

Caption: SLVH 2018 conference attendees proudly display 33 awards received at the 18th Annual Night of Excellence Summit Awards. From left are Felicia Durham, Karen McKee, Adam Lawrence, Tom Scrivana, Janet McGinnis, Patti Thompson, Sam Valdez, Billy Werner, Cindy Bradley, Taylor Broughman and Ressa Gonzales. Not pictured here were attendees Amber Romero and Reina Chacon. Courtesy photo.