Judicial nominations accepted

DENVER – The Colorado Supreme Court Nominating Commission will meet on May 14 and 15 to interview candidates and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the Colorado Supreme Court. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Chief Justice Nancy E. Rice, effective July 1.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the State of Colorado and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $177,350. The initial term of office of a Supreme Court justice is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent justice, if retained by the voters, has a term of 10 years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Chief Justice Nancy E. Rice, or from the Supreme Court Clerk, Cheryl Stevens, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at: http://www.courts.state.co.us/Careers/Judge.cfm.

The original signed application and an identical copy of the application in electronic form as a single, text-searchable PDF file must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. April 9. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. April 2.

The members of the nominating commission for the Supreme Court Nominating Commission are: Kathleen Lord and Daniel Ramos, 1st Congressional District; Shannon Stevenson and Kimberley Jordan, 2nd Congressional District; Robert Scott and Sean Murphy, 3rd Congressional District; Tracee Bentley and R. Stanton Dodge, 4th Congressional District; Jay Patel and Jeanne Smith, 5th Congressional District; James Carpenter and Michael Burg, 6th Congressional District; Carolyn Fairless and Heather Lipp, 7th Congressional District; and Connie McArthur, at-large.

Call Nikky or Cheryl in the Colorado Supreme Court Clerk’s office with questions: 720-625-5150.


Video News
More In Community