Adams State chooses Grizzlies of the Year

The 2018 Grizzly of the Year Award recipients Angelique Hill, far left, and Emily Johnson, far right, and Adams State President Cheryl Lovell./Photo by Ryan Jewe

ALAMOSA – Emily Johnson and Angelique Hill were named the first Adams State University Grizzlies of the Year during the halftime homecoming game on October 6. They each received a $500 scholarship.

Hill, Adams State Class of 2021, is majoring in nursing with a minor in photography. Johnson, Adams State Class of 2018, is a double major in music business and flute performance with a double minor in percussion performance and business administration.

The Grizzlies of the Year were chosen from nine GrizzLEADs (Leadership, Engagement, Achievement, and Dedication) candidates. Briana Gonzales, Celestena Gonzales, Angelique Hill, Emily Johnson, Megan Lakatos, Mariah McDermott, Shelby Nelson, Sarah Patterson, and Madalyn Stouder were scored on each of the following categories: application, interview, student vote and involvement in homecoming week activities.

According to Jeni Carter, director of Co-Curricular Recreation and Engagement Office (CoRE), Adams State moved from the traditional homecoming royalty to GrizzLEAD with a renewed commitment to inclusion. GrizzLEAD is more than a one-time contest and the two Grizzlies of the Year will continue involvement in their roles throughout the year.