2205 State Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101 • Ph: 719-589-2553 • Fax: 719-589-6573
Current E-Edition

News Obits Opinion Community Calendar Police Religion Sports Classifieds Home 

Haefeli named Runner of the Year

Posted: Wednesday, Nov 28th, 2012

Laura Haefeli

Courier Sports Editor

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla.óDel Norte native and cross country coach Laura Haefeli has been named as the Female Master Runner of the Year, her fifth runner of the year award from the USA Track and Field organization.

The Mountain/Ultra/Trail running (MUT) council of long distance running named the 2012 USATF Mountain Runners of the Year, Ultra Runners of the Year, Trail Runners of the Year, and Contributor of the Year earlier this month. Haefeli will be one of several to be honored at the USATF National Convention in Daytona Beach, Florida this December.

To be considered for the USATF Mountain, Ultra, and Trail running awards an athlete must show top results in U.S. competitions from November 1, 2010 through October 1, 2012, to include mountain races (these may be on paved/gravel surfaces as long as there is significant elevation loss or gain) and trail races of varying lengths, as well as road races for the ultra-category (distances beyond the marathon). International results are also considered. The nominee must be an ambassador for the sport. Nominee must be a USATF member for 2012, and to be considered for the mastersí category athlete must be a minimum of 40 years of age.

Haefeli was the top master at Loon Mountain Race where she finished seventh overall be become a USATF world team qualifier. She was also the top master at Mt. Washington Road Race where she finished in third place overall and set the course record for her age division.

She has also won this award twice before in 2008 and 2009. In 2004 and 2005, Haefeli was named as the Female Open Runner of the Year.

Haefeli is the first American woman to win an individual medal at the World Mountain Running Championships (2007) and was a member of the 2004, 2005 teams and gold medal winning womenís team in 2007.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal