2205 State Ave., Alamosa, CO 81101 • Ph: 719-589-2553 • Fax: 719-589-6573
Current E-Edition

News Obits Opinion Community Calendar Police Religion Sports Classifieds Home 

CRT wins El Pomar Foundation award

Posted: Tuesday, Oct 2nd, 2012

CRT Artistic Director Jessica Jackson (left) accepts the William I. Howbert Award for Excellence in the Arts and Culture from El Pomar Foundation trustees R. Thayer Tutt, Jr. and Dr. Evie G. Dennis during the foundation’s Awards for Excellence dinner last night in Blackhawk. Courier photo by Keith R. Cerny

BLACK HAWK — Seven outstanding nonprofit organizations throughout the state of Colorado were honored this evening during El Pomar Foundation’s Awards for Excellence presentation ceremony in Black Hawk, including Creede Repertory Theatre.  Creede Repertory Theatre received the William I. Howbert  Award for Excellence in Arts and Culture. The award includes a $25,000 grant.

“CRT is delighted to be selected as a 2012 El Pomar Awards for Excellence winner,” said  CRT Development Director Cat Augur. “This award will have significant impact on our ability to provide nationally-acclaimed performing arts experiences for adults and youth of the Southwest, including many rural and underserved communities that have limited access to high-quality, culturally enriching programs.”

El Pomar announced grants to several other organizations with San Luis Valley ties:

•The Rocky Mountain Council of Boy Scouts of America received a $35,000 grant to expand its reach to boys and girls though the Learning for Life program.

•Rio Grande Family Development Center and Family Services in Del Norte received a $20,000 grant for a preschool program.

•The town of Del Norte received an $80,000 grant for a new municipal complex.

In addition, the 2012 Awards for Excellence recipients also include:

•Tri-County Housing and Community Development Corp. (Fowler)- The H. Chase Stone Award for Excellence in Civic and Community Issues

•Cool Science (Colorado Springs) - The Charles L. Tutt Award for Excellence in Education

•Colorado Water Trust (Denver) - The Robert V. Menary Award for Excellence in Environmental Issues

•Colorado Children’s Healthcare Access Program (Aurora) - The Joel A.H. Webb Award for Excellence in Health

•Discover Goodwill (Colorado Springs) - The R.J. Montgomery Award for Excellence in Human Services

•Colorado Cattlemen’s Agricultural Land Trust (Arvada) -The Julie and Spencer Penrose Award to the Outstanding Nonprofit Organization in Colorado

Three individuals were honored for their service to Colorado. Linda Childears, president and CEO of the Daniels Fund, received the Ben S. Wendelken Special Trustees’ Award for her contribution and commitment to the nonprofit sector. Joe Blake, Chancellor Emeritus-CSU System, was honored with the Russell Thayer Tutt Award for exceptional leadership in the nonprofit sector. Chuck Wielgus, executive director of USA Swimming, accepted an award for Lifetime Achievement in Sport.

In total, El Pomar Foundation granted $215,000 to the Awards for Excellence recipients, which were selected by a statewide panel of community leaders.

Awards for Excellence, a program directed by Colorado Springs-based El Pomar Foundation, annually recognizes the state’s highest performing nonprofit organizations.  Since its inception in 1989, the program has awarded more than $5 million in grants to more than 400 different nonprofit organizations throughout the state.

For more information about Awards for Excellence and El Pomar Foundation, contact Josie Burke at 719.433.3571 or jburke@elpomar.org.

El Pomar Foundation, based in Colorado Springs, is one of the largest and oldest private foundations in the Rocky Mountain West. El Pomar contributes approximately $20 million annually through grants and programs to support Colorado nonprofit organizations involved in health, human services, education, arts and humanities, and civic and community initiatives. Spencer and Julie Penrose established El Pomar in 1937. Go to www.elpomar.org to learn more.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal